Quinoa Veggie Chili (Vegan)

2 Apr

This month came and went and I didn’t really do any of my goals! The only one I actually stuck with was eating vegan for the month. Its been a challenge, but I’m so glad I did this. Giving up cheese, milk, and home-baked desserts was really tough for the first week, but I’ve noticed that I don’t have cravings for those things anymore. My skin looks healthier and although I only lost a couple pounds, it looks like more because my body isn’t retaining liquids and swollen. So going forward, I am not sure if I will be 100% vegan, but I think I’ll take 5-6 days a week to cut out dairy and then give myself either 1-2 weekend days to enjoy a melty slice of pizza or some cookies.

Meanwhile, I made this veggie chili last night and it was pretty tasty! I’ve never cooked quinoa before, so I was a little intimidated but turned out to be super simple. I used these directions to prepare the quinoa and then followed this recipe for the actual veggie chili. Above, my bowl is pictured with soy mozerella and some coconut milk yogurt. Below, Jericho went all out with cheddar and tortilla chips. Yum!

One Response to “Quinoa Veggie Chili (Vegan)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Veggie Quinoa Soup (Vegan) | Micaiah Elyse - April 10, 2013

    […] to cook it last week. I had a bunch of veggies and leftover quinoa in the fridge after I had made that batch of chili, so I decided to throw everything together and see how it came out. I really like this recipe, it […]

Leave a Reply

